Skip to Content


SASS Awards

Any member can nominate a South African Resident for the SASS Butler-Laqua trophy, SASS Strassheim Award or SASS President’s Awards.

A gold medal, the “ARLABS Merit Award”, is awarded occasionally to an outstanding spectroscopist for exceptional achievement in any branch of spectroscopy in the fields of research, education, technology, industrial development or application. Dr Pat Butler decided to initiate an award to replace the Gold Medal. He wanted to honour Prof Laqua, someone who added to spectroscopy in South Africa in its early days. A trophy was created from optical glass to represent a prism-like structure. The committee thought it best to call it the Butler-Laqua trophy in honour of both scientists.

The Strasheim Award, a handsome trophy, was instituted in honour of Prof. Albertus Strasheim, founder and first president of the Society, on the occasion of his retirement. The award is presented on an annual basis at the discretion of the central committee to recognise significant contributions to spectroscopy in South Africa. Most frequently it has been awarded to the young spectroscopist presenting the best paper at the annual “new” spectroscopists meeting.

The President’s Award, a substantial cash prize and certificate, is awarded annually to recognise and reward a scientist, teacher, student or assistant who has worked with distinction in any branch of spectroscopy.